Jonathan Truman Named Semifinalist for Burlsworth Award


Kansas State senior linebacker Jonathan Truman was named as a semifinalist for the Burlsworth Award this week, according to the award’s committee. He is one of 10 to make the semifinalist list.

The award honors the most outstanding college football player that began his career as a walk-on.

Justin Hardy (East Carolina University), Mark Weisman (University of Iowa), Chris Jasperse (Marshall University), Jack Conklin (Michigan State University), Ben Beckwith (Mississippi State University), Mack Hollins (University of North Carolina), Joe Schmidt (University of Notre Dame), David Parry (Stanford University) and Zach Vigil (Utah State University) make up the other nine finalists.

Truman is the third Wildcat to earn the semifinalist status, joining B.J. Finny (2012) and Ryan Mueller (2013).

Prior to Saturday’s game, the Kechi, Kan. native leads the Wildcats and ranks third in the Big 12 with 85 tackles, including a career-best 17 tackles in a 31-30 win at then 11th-ranked Oklahoma on Oct. 18 in Norman. That performance was the highest single-game tackle count by a Wildcat since 2003.

After playing in every game his freshman and sophomore seasons, he became a starter his junior year and has started every game since.

Truman is on pace for 123 tackles this season, which would rank 19th in school history.

Walk-ons have seen great success under head coach Bill Snyder. Truman is one of nine current or former walk-ons on the team to start a game in 2014. Plus, five former walk-ons have gone on to play in the NFL, most notably, Jordy Nelson of the Green Bay Packers.

Finalists for the Burlsworth Award will be announced Nov. 25, and the winner will here his name called on Dec. 8 at a banquet in Springdale, Ark.